Rewriting a Survey for the SCA

In 2015, the Society for Creative Anachronism created a Peerage (the highest award) for Fencing. Previously, the Peerages had been for Armored Combat combat, Knowledge, Service, and Royalty. Four years later, a Peerage is being discussed for Archery, Equestrian, Siege Engines, and Target Throwing.

This post is my re-write of the Society for Creative Anachronisms Peerage Survey that was at https://surveys.eastkingdom.org/index.php/313648?lang=en

I have a breakdown of each question on this survey on my post Reviewing a Survey for the SCA.

Part 1: Peerages

This survey asks questions about the creation of a new Peerage or Peerages to cover the martial arts of Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing. Some of the questions in this survey cover the Order of Defense, the Fencing Peerage that was created in 2015. These questions are included as points of reference.

1. Do you participate in any of these activities?
Select all that apply:
o Archery
o Combat Archery
o Equestrian Activities
o Fencing
o Armored Combat
o Siege Engines
o Thrown Weapons
o None of the above
o I prefer Not to Answer

2. Do you feel superior martial skill in Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, or Throwing deserves a Peerage?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

3. Currently, the Peerages in the Society are Chivalry (Knights), Laurel, Pelican, Masters of Defense (Fencers), and Royal Peers (Companions of the Rose, Duke/Duchess, Count/Countess). Do you feel these five Peerages are enough, or should more be added?
o The existing Peerages are enough.
o One more Peerage should be added.
o More than one Peerage should be added.
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

4. Instead of creating a new Peerage for Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing, should these martial activities be covered under an existing Peerage?
o Yes, include them within the Laurel.
o Yes, include them within the Pelican.
o Yes, include them within the Chivalry.
o Yes, include them within the Order of Defense.
o No, they should not be recognized.
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

5. Should there be an all-in-one Peerage created, or should Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing each have their own Peerage?
o Create an all-in-one Peerage.
o Create individual Peerages for each martial art.
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

6. Do you feel a Peerage for a specific skill will increase participation in that activity?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

7. Do you feel that a peerage path for Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing will encourage cross-over from other SCA martial disciplines?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

8. Do you feel that participation in Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing has suffered because of increased focus on other martial pursuits?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

9. Do you feel that a Peerage path for Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing will attract membership from other recreation groups?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

10. Do you feel that a Peerage path for Archery, Combat Archery, Equestrian, Siege, and Throwing will encourage more people to participate in these martial arts? Will it also encourage more studies of period practices, more classes, and more tournaments?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

11. Do you feel that additional Peerage(s) will increase membership?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

12. Since the Order of Defense was created in 2015, have you seen more crossover between the Armored Combat fighters and Fencers?
o Yes, I have seen more crossover.
o No, the crossover has remained about the same.
o I have seen crossover depending more on age and physical condition than on the creation of a Fencing Peerage.
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

13. Since the Order of Defense was created in 2015, have you seen notable crossing over from other medieval groups, such as HEMA, since the Order of Defense’s creation?
o Yes, I have seen more crossover.
o No, the crossover has remained about the same.
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

14. Has the creation of the Order of Defense taken time and focus away from other activities?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

15. Has membership has gone up in your local group since the Order of Defense was created in 2015?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

Part 2: Who are you?

This section gathers information about who you are and what you like to do in the Society.

16. Are you a member of the Society?
If yes, please tell us your member number and enter your expiration date.
________

17. If you are not a member, how long have you been a part of the Society?
________

18. What is your current Kingdom?
________

19. How long have you been in the SCA?
o Less than 2 years
o 2-5 years
o 5-10 years
o 10-20 years
o 20-30 years
o 30-40 years
o Over 40 years
o Lifetime member
o I prefer Not to Answer

20. The Order of Defense was created in February 2015. Did you become a member after that time?
o Yes
o No
o I prefer not to Answer

21. If you became a member after February 2015, did the creation of the Fencing Peerage called the Order of Defense effect your choice to become a member?
o Yes, a Fencing Peerage encouraged me to join the Society.
o No, a Fencing Peerage did not influence my choice to join the Society.
o I prefer not to Answer

22. Did the creation of the Order of Defense make YOU more or less likely to participate in the Society?
o Yes
o No
o I have no opinion
o I prefer not to answer

23. What is your level of recognition within the SCA?

Non-Peers Peers Mentored Peers Royal Peers
o Member o Squire o Knight o Count/Countess
o Award of Arms o Apprentice o Laurel o Duke/Duchess
o Grant of Arms o Protegee o Pelican o Pince/Princess (current)
o Baron/Baroness o Cadet o Master of Defense o King/Queen (current)

24. What is your age?
o Under 20
o 21-30
o 31-40
o 41-50
o 51-60
o Over 60
o I prefer not to answer

25. How many family members participate in the SCA?
o I am the only one
o My spouse/significant other and I
o Family with children
o My extended family
o I prefer not to answer
o Other: ________

26. If a new peerage is considered for any endeavor, how would you like to hear about it?
Check all that apply
o Email to all members
o Kingdom Chroniclers
o Kingdom newsletters
o Kingdom website
o SCA Website
o Social Media
o Mailings to members
o I prefer Not to Answer
o Other: ________

27. How can this process be improved?
________

28. How can this process be more transparent?
________

In closing, I would like to say I did not realize how much work goes into creating surveys! I thought this would be an hour or two of work. Instead it has turned into several days’ worth of work as I analyzed the original survey and re-wrote it. I also want to thank Schwarzer Turm Herald Ulric von der Insel, who proofread my original analysis and gave excellent feedback. I have spent over a decade editing textbooks, and I can honestly say that everyone needs editors. This includes editors!

Leave a comment